Local horse riders rewarded at function

The first annual SANESA Limpopo prize giving was held at Blouberg Riding Academy at Vivo, on Saturday, 11 February where Limpopo horse riders were rewarded for their outstanding achievements during 2016.

Ockert van Niekerk, a Grd 7 learner from Laerskool Nylstroom, was awarded as the Best Performance Riding Rider in the primary school level 3 division.

Isabella van Niekerk from Laerskool Nylstroom claimed two awards during the prize giving for Dressage Rider of the Year, and Performance Rider of the Year; both in the primary school division.

Ruben le Roux, a home-school learner, walked away with the Best Working Rider level 3 and received a trophy for best overall Working Rider during 2016.

Leendert Poortier, who is also a home-school learner, received a certificate for best primary school Dressage Rider, level 3. Lyandi van der Merwe, a Grd 5 learner from Waterberg Academy, was awarded a certificate for best Working Rider level 1 in the primary school division.

The learners also had their first qualifying show for the Limpopo SANSEA on 11-12 February where the Vaalwater and Nylstroom participants “rocked it”.

Vaalwater representatives Ruben managed to take four first places, Lyandi five second places and one third place, Leendert one third and one fourth, and Lambert Poortier the newest member two third places and one fourth place.

Modimolle representatives Isabella swooped in and claimed five 1st places and one fourth place and Ockert received a first place.


Zani Hiepner

Latest News


Next Story x
Waterberg regional league play-offs